Inclement weather fails to break TN voters’ resolve


Over 5.79 crore voters will cast their vote in 65,616 polling stations to select representatives from 232 constituencies.

Barring Aravakurichi and Thanjavur, polling commenced in 232 constituencies across the State at 7 a.m. on Monday, in which over 5.7 crore people are expected to vote.

Over 300 companies of paramilitary personnel are involved in election duty. The polling will continue till 6 p.m. today.

 Also, those who have not received their voter Id’s yet, can use other 11 documents permitted by the Election Commission including passport, Aadhaar card, driving license etc.

First time voters can share their experiences in Twitter using the hash tags #TNVotes and #TNElection2016 .

What’s going on ?
There are reports of technical snag in EVMs at polling stations in Tirunelveli. Faulty EVMs delay voting in 12 booths in Virudhunagar.

Despite rains at many districts, people are determined to cast their votes to prove the democracy.

The Election Commission has announced to report the polling status once in every 2 hours, and this will continue for every 1/2 an hour after 3 p.m.

Except those 2 constituencies where polling has been postponed, the Assembly elections of 2016 are coming to an end, in TamilNadu, Kerala and Puducherry, where the entire voting is being conducted in a single phase today. The counting of polled votes is to begin on May 19th, 2016.

Be the first to comment

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.